The Department of Transportation (DOTr), Light-Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), and Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) have announced the start of the construction of the LRT-1 Cavite Extension Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Project on May 7, 2019.
Upon completion, the project will provide an additional 11.7 km to the existing 20.7 km LRT Line 1 system and will traverse southward, covering the cities of Parañaque and Las Piñas in Metro Manila and the Bacoor in Cavite. The extension will stem from Baclaran Station, and eight (8) new passenger stations will be opened, namely:
  1. Redemptorist Station
  2. Manila International Airport (MIA) Station
  3. Asiaworld Station
  4. Ninoy Aquino Station
  5. Dr. Santos Station
  6. Las Piñas Station
  7. Zapote Station
  8. Niog Station
DOTr has scheduled the opening of the LRT-1 Cavite Extension Project Package 1 (Redemptorist Station up to Dr. Santos Station) together with its new set of light rail vehicles for public use by the end of 2021.
The mock-up of the proposed Light Rail Vehicle (LRV) design was approved in January 2019 and delivery of 120 LRVs are on track to be delivered for the start of partial operations of the extension come 2021. The expansion of the Baclaran Depot and construction of the new Zapote Depot were also green lighted the following month.
This PPP project is under a Build-Transfer-and-Operate (BTO) scheme, with the DOTr as implementing agency and the LRMC as the private proponent. The project is expected to accommodate up to 800,000 passengers daily, compared to the current average ridership of 458,000 passengers per day, and reduce travel time from Cavite to Baclaran from 1 hour and 10 minutes to just 25 minutes. END