The Risk Resiliency Program (RRP) for the remaining 12 provinces and 4 major urban areas has officially started through an online kick-off meeting led by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) and the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) Center on December 17, 2021 via Microsoft Teams.

The RRP is DENR’s program for selected climate-vulnerable local government units (LGUs), composed of provinces and major urban areas. It aims to enhance climate and disaster-resiliency of communities in targeted areas and integrate climate change and disaster risk reduction in the development process of the LGUs. The target LGUs include the Provinces of Apayao, Kalinga, Ifugao, Mt. Province, Catanduanes, Siquijor, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, North Cotabato, Maguindanao, Sulu and Lanao del Sur, and major urban areas of Metro Manila, Metro Cebu, Metro Iloilo and Metro Davao.

Through the technical assistance of the Asian Development Bank and Urban Climate Change Resilience Trust Fund, a pool of experts was hired to assist in the preparation of resilience roadmaps and Investment Portfolios for Risk Resilience (IPRRs). The IPRRs will consist of potential PPP projects in these LGUs in emerging climate change and resilient sectors including water supply and sanitation, solid waste management, renewable energy, health, drainage and flood control, and green vertical infrastructure. The PPP Center can then assist the LGUs in developing these projects for private sector financing under PPP arrangements.

This collaboration with DENR is pursuant to the PPP Center’s initiatives in developing resilient infrastructure PPP projects.